Meet Valerie, a Recent Grad

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to get to know me. I come from a family with little education (my mom only made it to the 6th grade). My parents always encouraged me to go to school, but I guess being young makes you a little less wise sometimes. Now that I’m older, I realize why education is so important.

I just graduated with my GED from LifeWorks. It took me a while to get here, but now that I’m here I only want to continue my education. Austin Community College would be a great place for me to start. I know what it is like to not have an education and to try to make it in the real world because I’ve been there and done that. I am ready to pursue my goals and fulfill my dreams.

After I complete general ACC courses, I would like to enter their floral design program. I currently do not have the financial resources to purchase books and supplies, but I hope to overcome this hardship. With your help, I and other students like me can be where we aspire to be and not where we just have to be.

I am 24 and have a young daughter and I desire a stable and secure life for us — rather than living paycheck to paycheck. I appreciate everyone who helped get me here and only hope LifeWorks can give me a chance to further my education. Thank you for listening to my story. ~ Valerie

You may donate to LifeWorks and help other students like me or learn more about all of their programs by visiting www.lifeworksaustin.org. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

